Astrology Basics

Lesson 1: Learn Astrology

Vedic Astrology can be divided in two sections:

  • Mathematical astrology or Applied Astrology, and
  • Predictive Astrology.

Applied or Mathematical part of astrology is mainly the method of calculation to create birth chart. In this part of astrology, the positions of different planets are calculated on the basis of time and place etc. Whereas, on the other hand, Predictive Astrology is used for foretelling events of future.

Entire astrology is based primarily on nine planets, twelve signs, twenty-seven Nakshatras and twelve houses (Bhava). Generally, all predictions are based on the permutations and combinations of said elements-

In astronomy, we define planet as a celestial body which revolve around the sun and the bodies that revolve around the planet are called satellite. Whereas, it is different in astronomy. Since humans live on earth and we want to see the effects of celestial bodies on human bodies, we study the movement of celestial bodies with respect to earth. that is why we said earlier that we take earth in the Centre and measure the position  of each celestial body including sun moon and other planets. In astrology we consider any celestial body far from the earth as revolving around the earth even the sun and moon as well to be considered as planet. Hence sun and moon are also considered as planets. 

Names of nine planets and their days are as follows:
  1. Sun /Sunday
  2. Moon /Monday
  3. Mars/Tuesday
  4. Mercury/Wednesday
  5. Jupiter /Thursday
  6. Venus/Friday
  7. Saturn/Saturday
  8. Rahu/ Saturday
  9. Ketu / Saturday

Though some times 3 new planets which were found in recent times(as not defined in vedic astrology) Neptune, Pluto, Uranus are also taken in account. In some literature in ancient astrology it was recorded that these planets  will be found latter in Kalyug to reflect changed times and it will impact. Of these planets, Pluto is of special interest, it was named yum (other name of death) 

Indian astrology is earth-centric. Zodiac is a circular belt and all planets seem to be moving on this belt. Mathematically, a circle is of 360 degrees so is the Zodiac belt.

Our sages had identified 12 groups of stars separated at 30 degrees each in the celestial sphere and thus we have 12 Zodiac Signs or Rashis. They divided the zodiac belt in 12 houses or “Bhavas” having 30 degrees each; since the moon revolves around the earth 12 times during the period earth revolves round the sun.  Now, each house or bhava is  ruled by a zodiac sign creating the foundation of one’s life.

Each sign is governed by a planet. 

  1. Aries(Mesha) ruled by Mars
  2. Taurus (Vrisha) ruled by Venus
  3. Gemini (Mithun) ruled by Mercury
  4. Cancer (Karka) ruled by Moon
  5. Leo (Simha) ruled by Sun
  6. Virgo (Kanya) ruled by Mercury
  7. Libra (Tula) ruled by Venus
  8. Scorpio (Vrishchika) ruled Mars
  9. Sagittarius (Dhanu) ruled by Jupiter
  10. Capricorn (Makra/ Makar) ruled by Saturn
  11. Aquarius (Kumbha) rule by Saturn and
  12. Pisces (Meena) ruled by Jupiter

Similarly, sages also identified 27 constellations or Nakshatras basis of the movement of Moon around Zodiac. So when this zodiac is divided into twenty-seven equal parts (that means 360⁰ /27) the are Nakshatras or Constellations are separated at 13⁰20′. The names of Nakshatras are as follow:

Everyday moon cross through one constellation. It starts with Ashwini and with the match of zodiac Aries.

Name of the constellations with their longitudinal span in e each zodiac sign:

The Lord of each Nakhatra

In the next blog we will talk about the planets and their characteristics, keep reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.